In view of the increase in the number of coronovirus cases, Indian Railways has identified 215 railway stations in 23 states and union territories across the country, where trains with new Isolation Coaches can be deployed. All these railway stations are located in Green Zone as well as Orange Zone.

On the request of state governments, isolation ward train services will be deployed at railway stations and will be linked to the nearest COVID-19 hospital. Recently issued guidelines by the Ministry of Health have stated that in view of the increase in the number of COVID-19 cases, coaches of Indian Railways should be used as Corona Virus Care Centres.

According to government guidelines, train coaches will be used for suspected cases or corona positive cases, in which infection is present at very mild levels at present. They will be divided accordingly. According to the SOP, different coaches will be used for suspected and confirmed cases of corona patient. Along with this, a separate cabin will be given to the patients. If necessary, a cabin can be given to two patients.
According to a senior government official, railway stations have been identified in such a way that trains can be used there and at the same time trains should remain on standby so that they can reach any other place in the shortest possible time.

The list of stations in the main cities of the country includes Delhi, Kolkata, Bangalore, Mumbai, Hyderabad and Chennai. Apart from this, Uttar Pradesh, Bihar, Rajasthan, Gujarat, Assam, Arunachal Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Jammu and Kashmir, Chhattisgarh, Madhya Pradesh, Haryana, Andhra Pradesh, Telangana, Odisha, Tamil Nadu, West Bengal, Goa, Tripura, Maharashtra, Jharkhand, Punjab and the main cities of the state of Karnataka are also included.

27 stations from Uttar Pradesh, 21 stations from Maharashtra, 18 stations from West Bengal, 15 stations from Bihar, 14 stations from Madhya Pradesh, 14 stations from Karnataka, 13 stations from Assam, 11 stations from Gujarat, 10 stations from Tamil Nadu, 9 from Odisha. The station consists of 7 in Punjab, 7 stations in Jharkhand, 3 stations in Kerala, 2 stations in Jammu and Kashmir and 2 stations in Telangana.